Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association Announces 2023 Award Winners

24 Feb Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association Announces 2023 Award Winners

Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association (TVMA) announced recipients of its 2023 Awards during the Music City Veterinary Conference on Saturday, February 11. Award winners are nominated and chosen by an awards committee of their peers.


This year’s winners include:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Dennis Geiser, DVM, DABVP, Professor Emeritus, UT College of Veterinary Medicine;
  • Walter R. Clark Distinguished Service Award – Dr. John Mullins, The Animal Care Center of Ooltewah, TN;
  • Young Veterinarian of the Year – Dr. Megan Noseda, Belle Meade Animal Hospital, Nashville;
  • Outstanding Technician – Laura Fischer, LVMT, University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine;
  • Legislator of the Year – Representative Jay Reedy, whose District 74 encompasses Houston, Humphreys and part of Montgomery County;
  • John C. New Service Award – Lisa Stetar, CEO of Crossroads Campus, Nashville, TN;
  • Tennessee Animal Hall of Fame Inductee – Cooper Garmezy, a Golden Retriever owned by Andy Garmezy, Franklin, TN.


“We are pleased to honor this year’s recipients of the TVMA Awards,” said, Bob Parker, DVM, 2022-23 president of TVMA. “Each of these outstanding individuals contributes to promote veterinary medicine, animal welfare, and public health.”


About Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association

Since 1909, the Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association has been committed to advancing the science and art of veterinary medicine.  More than 1,600 members work to ensure that laws and regulations promote the health and well-being of all animals, and protect public health and human welfare.  Large and small animal practitioners, students, and veterinary school graduates make up TVMA membership.  For additional information, please visit www.tvmanet.com.